DEICIDE: ‘Defying The Sacred’ Video

DEICIDE: 'Defying The Sacred' Video

“Defying The Sacred”, the new video from Florida death metal veterans DEICIDE, can be seen below. The track is taken from the band’s long-awaited new album, “Overtures Of Blasphemy”, which was released on September 14 via Century Media. The follow-up to 2013’s “In The Minds Of Evil” was produced by Jason Suecof (THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDERTRIVIUM) at AudioHammer Studios in Sanford, Florida. The cover artwork was created by Zbigniew M. Bielak (GHOSTPARADISE LOSTMAYHEM) and can be seen below.

The “Defying The Sacred” clip was directed by Scott Hansen, who has previously worked with ANIMALS AS LEADERS and WHITECHAPEL.

After 30 years, it’s plausible to think DEICIDE would want to slow down and soften the message. None of that is happening on “Overtures Of Blasphemy”. In fact, DEICIDE, with head demon Glen Benton and co-conspirator Steve Asheim at the helm, is only becoming darker, heavier, and more extreme.

“I originally thought that, the older I got, the more mellow I’d get,” says Benton. “That’s not the case. I would say I’m darker now than I ever was. What I’ve been through over the years has definitely darkened my heart and soul.”

Lyrically, “Overtures Of Blasphemy” continues DEICIDE‘s crusade against, not just Christianity, but all religions. Benton says: “The lyrics also dig deep into my own personal darkness. It’s what I am. Death metal is what I do.”

“Overtures Of Blasphemy” track listing:

01. One With Satan (3:48) 
02. Crawled From The Shadows (3:20) 
03. Seal The Tomb Below (2:57) 
04. Compliments Of Christ (2:44) 
05. All That Is Evil (3:24) 
06. Excommunicated (2:55) 
07. Anointed In Blood (3:18) 
08. Crucified Soul Of Salvation (3:00) 
09. Defying The Sacred (3:30) 
10. Consumed By Hatred (3:02) 
11. Flesh, Power, Dominion (3:33) 
12. Destined To Blasphemy (2:25)

Benton told That Drummer Guy about the songwriting process for “Overtures Of Blasphemy”: “We all individually, me, Steve and Kevin [Quirion, guitar], write individually. As each one of us would write a song, we’d bring it to practice and go through it and fine-tune it. After this many records, you just really focus on all the mistakes you’ve made and the things that work and the things that didn’t work, just work off of those.

“In the beginning, we started writing or when I started writing, Steve wrote a couple, Kevinhad a few and I started writing,” he added. “When I started writing, it was, like, ‘Hey, man. He’s even writing so we better get moving on this thing.’ We had a talk about how we wanted to make it catchy and make a record for us. Not trying to please… I would rather please more people. The best way to describe it is the YouTube videos now when you got 5,000 likes or ‘thumbs up’ for a song or a hundred ‘thumbs down.’ Well, I would rather make music for that 5,000 people than that hundred people. That really was the focus and where we wanted to go. We wanted to make it fun. After this many years of doing it, man, you need to do things to make it fun.”

DEICIDE in 2016 parted ways with longtime guitarist Jack Owen and replaced him with Mark English (MONSTROSITY).

DEICIDE 2018 is:

Glen Benton (Vocals, Bass) 
Steve Asheim Drums) 
Kevin Quirion (Guitars) 
Mark English (Guitars)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create your website at
Get started
%d bloggers like this: